My good friend Marissa Leners and I had signed up to run the 10-mile Hot Dash (pun on “hot dish” … it’s a Midwestern thing 😉) on March 18, 2017. Not even 2 miles into the race, Marissa asked me if there was any more talk of next steps with Josh. None that I knew of at the time!

As I was nearing the finish line at the end of the race, all of a sudden the music stopped. I immediately got frustrated because the loud music is one of the best part of participating in races. However, what was to come next far surpassed any adrenaline I would have gained from the music…

I heard Josh’s voice over the MC speakers asking me to come over to him. I was immediately confused – couldn’t he wait until I finished the race?!

I ran over to where he was standing with the microphone, and before I knew it, he was down on one knee asking me to marry him!

I honestly cannot think of a better way to propose. He 100% surprised me – I had no idea whatsoever!

The MC had to remind us to finish the race after the proposal. It was all such a whirlwind, I don’t remember saying, “Yes! Of course I’ll marry you!”

