Exactly two years ago today, Josh invited me to join him and some friends at Dooley’s Pub so we could watch the Badgers play in the Elite Eight March Madness game against Arizona. I don’t really remember the Badgers winning, nor any of the other details of the game.

I do, however, remember the way Josh said my name. I remember the way his eyes glittered when he smiled, and the way his brow furrowed when a bad call was made. I remember the way he looked at me, and how he made me feel welcome with his friends.

After the game, Josh offered to give me a ride back home. His car was spotless, besides one lone clementine sitting in his cup holder. When we got to the set of stoplights where the turn to my house was, he asked if I wanted to come over to his place for a little bit. My stomach did a flip-flop – I had been crushing hard on Josh for several months, and now I had to opportunity to see where he lived?!

I apparently said yes, and before we knew it, we were at his apartment. His very nice apartment. (Note: compared to my dingy college house, it was a palace.)

We sat down, and decided to watch, “Black Fish.” I remember working so hard to hold back tears while watching the poor whales be mistreated – I didn’t want him to think I was over-emotional or anything like that!

The last two years have flown by. Every day that I get to spend with Josh is a complete and utter treat. I have never experienced a love so pure, real, and mutually reciprocated. He is so respectful, encouraging, and loves me far more than I thought possible.

I couldn’t be more excited to become his wife in seven short months. If the rest of our lives are a reflection of what the past two years have been, we’re in for quite an enjoyable ride ❤️

