Sunday, February 26th

This morning I had the privilege to be a part of the 3rd largest NEDA Walk in the nation.

20170226_094605

When Anna first asked me if I’d be interested in doing this walk with her,  I honestly didn’t know what to expect. I wasn’t exactly sold on the whole ‘fundraising’ aspect of the walk, but the more I looked into the event, the more intrigued I became. I realized that God didn’t drag me through hell just to have me suffer anorexia in silence. Instead, why waste suffering if it has the potential to touch someone else in need.

Anna and I developed our fundraising pages, and leaned on one another for courage and strength to break through the negative stigma surrounding eating disorders. Mental illnesses don’t make sense. In the same way you can’t tell someone suffering with depression to just, “be happy,” you cannot tell someone with anorexia to, “just eat.”

I was overwhelmed with the outpouring of support we both received when we posted our original post on Facebook:

post

 

Today, I want to express my immense gratitude to all those that donated to NEDA on my behalf. Without your generous donations, today would not have been possible:

Dr. Dawna Drum: Thank you for being such a positive female role model in my life. You inspire me to never settle, and passionately pursue happiness. Thank you for teaching me far more than just Accounting, but for teaching me that it is possible to be a strong and successful woman.

John and Gail Justin: Thank you for raising Josh to be the incredible man that I get to call my boyfriend today. Thank you for your unconditional love and support for both Josh and I, and for the genuine love and acceptance you’ve shown towards me.

Josh Justin: Thank you for knowing me even better than I know myself. Your patience is remarkable, and your perception is absolutely incredible. Thank you for supporting me, and walking with me this morning.

Mom: Thank you for never giving up on me. Thank you for believing that recovery was possible even when I thought it never would be. Thank you for driving me to every dietitian appointment, every doctor visit, and every therapy session. Thank you for always being my shoulder to cry on, and my safe haven when I need you.

Dad: Thank you for surprising me at the NEDA walk this morning! Words can’t begin to describe the joy when I saw your face in the rotunda earlier today. Thank you for supporting me, always ensuring I have plenty of food and snacks, and being the best dad a girl could ask for.

Dahl Automotive – Onalaska, and Jon Culligan: Thank you for dedicating two weeks of Friday Jeans Day profits to NEDA. Thank you for providing an outlet for my mom to share our recovery story, and for your generous donation.

Dr. Matt Evans: Thank you for being real. You are such an incredible role model of mine, and it was a true pleasure participating in the Marathon class at UW-Eau Claire last semester. Thank you for teaching us what true, genuine, passion looks like.

Grandma and Grandpa: Thank you for being the best grandparents in the world. Whether it’s a phone call at some crazy morning hour, or a special dinner out, you never cease to make me feel special, valuable, and whole. Thank you for your dedication to our family, and for the multitude of recipes you taught me make throughout recovery.

Rick and Mary Belcourt: Thank you for being two of the most loving, happy, and inspiring people I know. You encourage me to look at life through the same lenses that you use: optimism and gratitude. Thank you for your selfless nature, and for loving me as if I were your granddaughter as well.

Every single dollar raised goes directly to NEDA and enables them to continue raising awareness and advocating for access to quality care.

Thank you so much for donating, and for believing that recovery is possible. Love you all ❤️️

 

 

