My good friend Anna asked if I’d be interested in doing a charity walk for the National Eating Disorders Association (NEDA) in late February. I am unbelievably honored to be doing this walk with her, and am excited to begin raising money for this very worthy cause.

As I’ve stated in past posts, both Anna and I are living testaments to victory over anorexia nervosa.

I signed up for the Twin Cities, MN NEDA Walk on Monday, and set up my personal page. On my personal page, I shared a brief summary of what recovery looked like for me, and how I attribute much of my recovery to organizations like NEDA.

I set the goal of raising $250 to raise awareness about eating disorders, and help to lower the negative stigma surrounding them. If you feel so inclined, please feel free to donate to NEDA via my personal page.

Many people feel helpless when trying to help a friend or family member struggling with an eating disorder. It can seem like an upward battle, but remember that your loved one is battling a mental illness. Mental illnesses rarely make rational sense. The greatest thing that you can do for someone struggling is:

  • Listen to them. Let them know that you are there to support them.
  • Love them. Encourage them to engage in therapy, and lovingly hold them accountable.
  • Learn more about their disorder, while realizing that every situation is different.

For me, recovery from anorexia was similar to surviving a hurricane. The worst wave had passed, and now I would have to deal with the repercussions. My doctors had told me that I had to expect my body to retaliate, especially after wreaking havoc on it for so long. However, just like survivors of terrible storms, disaster recovery help is available to those that seek it.

 

