All throughout life we are required to make decisions, some big and some small, but in the ultimately every single decision alters our life’s path. We make decisions about what we’ll eat, how we’ll spend our time, who we’ll spend that time with, where we’ll work, the type of work we’ll do, etc.happy

Even though decisions are the framework for the majority of life, they stress me out. I’m in my last semester of school, and have had several major decisions to make.

Career

I was fortunate enough to receive a full-time offer from the firm where I completed my internship. Although I LOVED the internship experience, learned a lot, and truly enjoyed the opportunity, the offer was for the summer (I want to start in January), and it wasn’t in the group I wanted to work with.

I serve as the Information Systems (IS) student representative for the IS Industry Advisory Board where I decidehave the opportunity to to sit in on a couple meetings involving the IS faculty and industry professionals. We discuss industry trends, curriculum, university changes, etc. One of the industry professionals was impressed with my presentation, and asked our IS Administrative Assistant for my contact information. I connected with him, and his company. Long story short, I was offered a job as a Senior Project Manager starting in January!

lauver
Affirmation from a professor

Although it may seem like a pretty easy decision to make, it was a hard one for me.

I was concerned about losing exposure, limiting my career trajectory, stepping into an unknown line of work, etc. I asked for advice from career services, professors, advisers, my counselor,  my parents, grandparents, etc. I even called my uncle Mitchell since he works in the same industry that I’ll be working in. I learned that success means a lot of different things to different people. While one person may define success by the amount that sits on the bottom line of a paycheck, I define it like this:

Success to me is balance. Balance brings peace, mindfulness, and in turn, happiness. I feel that balance influences all aspects of life. Too much or too little of anything, isn’t good. I want to work to live, and not live to work.

Personal

All and all, I’ve found that no matter how much advice I gather, or how much research I’ve done, I have to listen to my gut instinct.

The best tool is by far, the power of prayer. Although I find it difficult to slow down and truly engage with my sweet Jesus, nothing brings more peace than a few moments spent with Him. I love reading Jesus Calling daily devotionals to recenter me with my Creator. Today’s was about avoiding anxiety:

Anxiety is a result of envisioning the future without me. So the best defense against worry is staying in communication with me.

My adviser told me to listen to the song, “What a Friend We Have in Jesus” after one of our appointments. It’s beautiful:

Oh what peace we often forfeit,

All the needless pain we bear,

All because we do not carry,

Everything to God in prayer.

Josh is absolutely amazing as well. His advice is always spot-on, and as I’ve said time and time again, he knows me better than I know myself.

Also, the dormant accountant in me decided to make a little appearance so I made a compareweighted decision excel spreadsheet…

So all in all, although decision making can be difficult, it’s impossible to quantify success (especially if the numerical number you’re assigning to that success is tied to a dollar amount.) In the end, it’s the quality of the life you’re living that matters. This means allowing yourself to find balance in your non-work life, so you’re able to give 110% at work, and 110% at home.

Jean's Letter.jpg
Some external affirmation from my favorite professor 🙂
