*Disclaimer: Every body reacts to medication differently. What works for me, will not automatically work for you. I encourage you to find a doctor that you trust and work diligently with them to find medication that will help you be your best. In addition to medicine, I also see a therapist regularly.*

Since recovery, I’ve been on several medications for acne, depression, anxiety, and sleep.

The acne medication roller coaster started with pills (doxycycline), then changed to more topical methods including washes and creams.pills

The depression and anxiety medication works hand in hand, even though that sounds rather counter-intuitive. I was on sertraline for over two years after the whole jail incident (see Love and find the Agape section), but found that it wasn’t working as well as it should have been. I’ve been blessed with a phenomenal doctor at my university’s student health service, and she was willing to work with me to find a medication that worked best with my own unique make-up. We’ve found that venlafaxine has taken the cake. I’ve been on that for about 6 months, and have noticed drastic differences in my mood, and overall contentedness.

Unfortunately I’ve been dealing with panic attacks, so I was also prescribed alprazolam to serve as an as-needed in-the-moment panic reducer.

Lastly, and perhaps the most important medication I’ve been on is trazodone. It’s literally the miracle medication, as I’m able to fall asleep (and stay asleep) within a half hour of taking the medication. I never realized how vital sleep is to a well-functioning body. It feels absolutely incredible to wake up in the morning feeling refreshed and ready to go (albeit I still can’t function without at least two cups of coffee).

